Ministry of Magic
Ministry of Magic and the Wizard's Council Quidditch Wizarding Culture

British and Irish Quidditch League

"....professional Quidditch teams have been limited in number since 1674 when the League was established. At that time, the thirteen best Quidditch teams in Britain and Ireland were selected to join the League"
-- Quidditch Through the Ages (QA7)

British and Irish Quidditch League

The professional league of Quidditch teams for England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

The British and Irish Quidditch League was established in 1674. At that time the Department of Magical Games and Sports decided to limit both the number of Quidditch games and the number of professional teams, in order to be able to comply with the International Statute of Secrecy.

The thirteen most successful Quidditch teams in Britain and Ireland formed the League and compete each year to win the League Cup.

The other teams were asked to discontinue with large scale matches and competitions. These now non-professional teams are allowed to hold Quidditch games if they complied with the secrecy restrictions (QA7).

The 13 teams that form the League are:


Tags: competitions/competitors league table match rivalry rules schedule teams wizard games

Editors: and